PDA

View Full Version : Ick

Melvin
April 21st, 2010, 08:14 PM
First let me say that I am new to this Hobby, and I am also new to this forum. I would lie to say hello to all, and to thank you in advance for the information that iI will receive.

Mhy question is pertaining to Ick. I am just curious about how long can a fish live with Ick being untreated?

stevem
April 21st, 2010, 09:22 PM
first off, we where all new to the hobby at sometime, many years ago.
Now to address your question on ich. Ich is a paraiste that need a host fish to live on. If your fish are healthy and stress free, they can usually fight off ich, when they become stressed, wheater it is from water quality, temperature, or even the shock of the new tank they can not. Ich has about a 3 week life cycle, to speed up the cycle raise the temperature and treat with medication. If this a saltwater tank also lower the salinity to about 1.017 slowly. If it is only 1 fish the best thing is to treat hm in a hospital tank. Keep your water quality good with water changes, and keep your tank heated. A drop in temperature will ussually bring out the ich. When treating raise the temp. to about 82. do not forget to remove the carbon, or it will remove the medication.

Melvin
April 22nd, 2010, 10:34 AM
Thanks for the Info SteveM. You have been very helpful!!!!!!

stevem
April 22nd, 2010, 08:13 PM
thats what we are hear for
1 thing to add raise the temp to 85 not 82 at 85 degrees the ich starts to die off

Melvin
April 22nd, 2010, 09:53 PM