Go Back   Brooklyn Aquarium Society - Public Forum > Saltwater > New To Saltwater Hobby

New To Saltwater Hobby New To Saltwater Hobby? Introduce Yourself And Ask Your Noobie Questions Here.

Old April 30th, 2009, 04:15 PM   #1
SwordsRule
Egg

Default Getting started in 2009

I am an experienced freshwater fish hobbyist, and I've keep saltwater fish in the distant past (circa 1970's). I know a lot has changed in the saltwater arena in the last 30 plus years but where do I begin? Are there any resources to help a new s/w hobbyist? Do I go fish only, reef tank or some blend of the two?

Any guidance would be appreciated.

-SwordsRule
SwordsRule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 07:20 PM   #2
stevem
Super Moderator

Default Salt water tank

Yes alot has changed, but for the better.
I too have been keeping salt since the 70's.
A few things that have changed, are protein skimmers, they are much more effecient now. Not the little cup that used to sit a top of the riser tube on your undergravel.
Also not many people use undergravel filter anymore, in fact most would probally advise to stay away from them. Lighting has changed filters have changed even pumps, but all for the better.
There is also the use of live rock, and live sand. Which helps cycle your tank much faster.
It used to take anywhere from 6-12 weeks on average, now with the use of live rock and live sand it can be done in days.
As far as reef or salt fish only, that depends on how deep your pocket are and how far you want to stick your hand in.
Reefs are in my opinion beautiful, but fairly expensive. Also a little more involved.
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2009, 11:01 AM   #3
alazandv
Super Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwordsRule View Post