Go Back   Brooklyn Aquarium Society - Public Forum > Saltwater > Reef Discussion

Reef Discussion Topics about reef related subject. Corals, Invertebrates, Reef Safe Fish, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 27th, 2009, 10:34 AM   #1
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Why use RO water

Everywhere I go, everyone keeps telling me about RO water. Am I missing something?

Water in NY is pretty good and I've never had problems using it in both freshwater and saltwater setups. I don't have any algae in my tank and the coraline keep on taking over the glass. Why would I want to switch?
__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 05:13 PM   #2
rdebonis
Fry
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 121
Rep Power: 21 rdebonis is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I'm not a salt water hobbiest, but if you're not having any water problems and you are successful with what you are doing, why change? What little I know of RO is for Freshwater where the tap water is high in Nitrates and Phosphates and other minerals. Then it is advisable to use or mix RO water with the tap water, but other than that I see no reason to use RO for Freshwater systems. As far as Saltwater is concerned I haven't a clue. I'm told the tap water in New York City is some of the best in the country and if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
__________________
rdebonis
rdebonis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2009, 01:26 PM   #3
fishtank1980
Egg
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 22
Rep Power: 0 fishtank1980 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoomer View Post
Everywhere I go, everyone keeps telling me about RO water. Am I missing something?

Water in NY is pretty good and I've never had problems using it in both freshwater and saltwater setups. I don't have any algae in my tank and the coraline keep on taking over the glass. Why would I want to switch?

When I had a FOWLR tank or LPS and Softies Tap water was OK but I still had algae here and there but when I started adding SPS they would all bleach out and/or start growing algae on the branchs.
Since I started using RO/DI I've had close to 0 phos and 0 Nit.


Thanks, Eddie
__________________
BrooklynReefs.com
fishtank1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2009, 03:19 PM   #4
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

^^^ I am actually in process of shopping for a unit. I'm going to go with RO only and not DI so that I can use it for both drinking and the tank.
__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 08:13 AM   #5
Halfbeaks1
Egg
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: S.I.
Posts: 39
Rep Power: 0 Halfbeaks1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I was having trouble with algae in my 28 gal. Red Sea Max marine set up. I started using the Aquarium Pharm. Tap Water Filter and that did the trick. I also use it for water replacement for my Cherry Shrimp tank.
Halfbeaks1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 09:26 AM   #6
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I got a unit from AWI but the pressure swings in my building make large production nearly impossible. It would take days to make 40-Gallon Brute container full of pure RODI water. Very impractical in small Brooklyn apts. I think its time to shop for booster pump
__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2011, 01:53 PM   #7
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

The booster pump arrived like 6 months ago. I just have to find the time to actually install it.
__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 08:24 PM   #8
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default ro filter

That's a good site (airwaterice.com)
They are resonable and very helpfull
I have use them a couple of times
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 08:32 AM   #9
john fox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: bklyn
Posts: 332
Rep Power: 19 john fox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

What exactly is RODIN WATER🐬🐬
john fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 10:52 AM   #10
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

RODI = Reverse Osmosis DeIonized

simply a water that has gone through multiple stages of filtration. RODI water is pretty much the purest water you can obtain without going broke; just dont drink it please
__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 04:49 PM   #11
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

You can drink ro water , but not Dion water
Ro filters remove heavy metals and anything but pure clean water. this will slow down the algae growth. In a reef tank because of the lighting that is huge.
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2012, 01:41 AM   #12
Astchiefy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 181
Rep Power: 0 Astchiefy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I got my 5 stage unit from BULKREEFSUPPLY which was awesome. It came with all the connections and was ready to go right out of the box. They also provided instruction on multple installation types. It was well worth the money and even came with a TDS meter.

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/bulk-r...s-systems.html
Astchiefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2012, 11:10 AM   #13
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default ro

did u hook it up yet?
let us know how it was to hook up
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2012, 09:30 PM   #14
Astchiefy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 181
Rep Power: 0 Astchiefy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

IT's been running for several months like a charm. There were several parts included for installation. They even supplied a faucet adapter for those that didn't want to get into the plumbing thing. RO units create a lot of waste water to create RO water. Great investment. I will always have fresh water on hand.
Astchiefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2012, 09:34 PM   #15
Astchiefy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 181
Rep Power: 0 Astchiefy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

One word of caution. Since RO/DI water is in itself sterile it can alter the PH and mineral balance in your tank if you aren't adding supplements to your top off water.
Astchiefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2012, 07:18 PM   #16
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default ro

yes all ro waste alot of water
usually about 4 to1
if you raise african you can use the waste water for them
it is hard water
you can mix it to fit your needs
even livebearers like a little hardness in their water
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2012, 07:18 PM   #17
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default ro

yes all ro waste alot of water
usually about 4 to1
if you raise african you can use the waste water for them
it is hard water
you can mix it to fit your needs
even livebearers like a little hardness in their water
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2012, 03:35 AM   #18
Astchiefy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 181
Rep Power: 0 Astchiefy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Here's a look at the Bulk reef supply unit.

http://m.youtube.com/?rdm=md6yh552h#...&rdm=md6yh552h
Astchiefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2012, 01:24 PM   #19
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

i hear good things about this company
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2012, 09:58 PM   #20
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevem View Post
yes all ro waste alot of water
usually about 4 to1
if you raise african you can use the waste water for them
it is hard water
you can mix it to fit your needs
even livebearers like a little hardness in their water

Steve why are you making double posts....are you trying to cheat and win?
__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2012, 10:00 PM   #21
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astchiefy View Post
Here's a look at the Bulk reef supply unit.

http://m.youtube.com/?rdm=md6yh552h#...&rdm=md6yh552h
Link doesn't go anywhere
__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2012, 10:01 PM   #22
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevem View Post
yes all ro waste alot of water
usually about 4 to1
if you raise african you can use the waste water for them
it is hard water
you can mix it to fit your needs
even livebearers like a little hardness in their water
more than 4 to 1 if the water pressure is low. Could be 9 to 1 easily with low entry pressure and low temperature.

You are effectively making less RO and more wastewater in the winter because even at same pressure the TAP is much colder in the winter months..
__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2012, 10:03 PM   #23
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Here is one

http://cdn.bulkreefsupply.com/media/...rse_Osmosi.mp4
__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2012, 10:25 PM   #24
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2012, 07:39 PM   #25
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default ro

I did not know water temperture affects ro water
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2012, 08:56 PM   #26
xoomer
Admin
 
xoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 225
Rep Power: 21 xoomer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevem View Post
I did not know water temperture affects ro water
Now you know,

You live and you learn.
__________________
Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.
xoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2012, 12:54 PM   #27
Astchiefy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 181
Rep Power: 0 Astchiefy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Many people don't.. Also nutrients need to be added to this now sterile water and the PH can be much lower than that of your tank
Astchiefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2012, 11:59 PM   #28
Astchiefy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 181
Rep Power: 0 Astchiefy is an unknown quantity at this point
Wink RO DI Installed Video

Here's my 150 gallon rated system

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTmIbl20GwM
Astchiefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2012, 08:38 PM   #29
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default ro

yes the ph is lower, usually as low as 5.0
I use it on my reef and I add seachem 8.3 or api's


that is all i add
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2012, 12:01 AM   #30
Astchiefy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 181
Rep Power: 0 Astchiefy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

How do you feel about adding Sodium Bicarbonate to the RO water prior to use? Baking Soda. BRings the PH up. I don't notice much change using the buffer unless you go heavy which is never a good idea in my book. My tank hovers at 8.1 - 8.2. Since the load has grown and calcium is being used up much more
Astchiefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Page generated in 0.12467 seconds with 11 queries