Go Back   Brooklyn Aquarium Society - Public Forum > Saltwater > New To Saltwater Hobby

New To Saltwater Hobby New To Saltwater Hobby? Introduce Yourself And Ask Your Noobie Questions Here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 6th, 2015, 04:48 PM   #1
OOWolf37
Egg
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0 OOWolf37 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default My Tank is KILLING my fish!

I recently bought a new ten gallon tank set to use as quarantine tank. It came with a tank, hood with a light, filter, heater, and other goodies I didn't use. I set it up and filled it with salt water from my main tank. Since it's main purpose is to treat sick fish and quarantine new fish I didn't include any sand or gravel, but I was told by someone at the store to get a piece of live rock to put in the tank. I put a clown fish in the quarantine tank and it died over night. I spoke to people at the fish store to insure I didn't do anything to kill the fish and was told that it sounded like I set up the tank and acclimated the fish properly and bought another clown. It lasted about 48 hours and then died.

I spoke to the fish store again, and was told that something in the tank was toxic. As I was advised, I completely dismantled the quarantine tank, I rinsed everything, including the heater, filter, thermometer, and live rock in addition to the tank itself. I replaced the water, again with water from my main tank (the fish and livestock in the main tank are doing fine). I tested the water, ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, where good, and the ph level was at 8.0 and the kit says optimal levels are 8.2-8.4. I bought a Domino or black damsel, because I was told they are very hardy fish, and introduced him to the tank. He died the the next afternoon.

Can anyone help? What can I do to clean the tank and the components so that my fish aren't killed by my tank?
OOWolf37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2015, 12:52 AM   #2
ArcherFish
Egg
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Rep Power: 0 ArcherFish is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

are you still having problems? I can help.

what test kit was used to test your water?
ArcherFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2015, 08:41 AM   #3
OOWolf37
Egg
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0 OOWolf37 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

A master kit. It tested for phosphates, ammonia, nitrate, and nitrites
OOWolf37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2015, 01:33 PM   #4
ArcherFish
Egg
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Rep Power: 0 ArcherFish is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

yes but what brand pls? what company makes the test kit?
ArcherFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2015, 08:15 PM   #5
OOWolf37
Egg
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0 OOWolf37 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

The kit is made by API aquarium pharmaceuticals
OOWolf37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2015, 09:26 PM   #6
ArcherFish
Egg
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Rep Power: 0 ArcherFish is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I would suggest as far as testing your water, to take it to a store that uses a good test kit, definitely not API.

On the tank, I'd probably just do a water change on it, but to save money, have your water tested with a good test kit. You may want to start all over, but I doubt it.

Good luck.
ArcherFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2015, 09:31 PM   #7
OOWolf37
Egg
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0 OOWolf37 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thank you. In the future, what is a good testing kit that I could invest in!
OOWolf37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2015, 09:39 PM   #8
ArcherFish
Egg
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Rep Power: 0 ArcherFish is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

for freshwater API is fine.

for saltwaer I'd use anything else, but I would suggest Red Sea, Elos, or Instant Ocean, or Seachem.
ArcherFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Page generated in 0.06876 seconds with 11 queries