Go Back   Brooklyn Aquarium Society - Public Forum > Freshwater > Plants

Plants Get Your Plant Related Questions Answered Here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 14th, 2012, 07:16 PM   #1
john fox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: bklyn
Posts: 332
Rep Power: 19 john fox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Naja and foxtail hornwort

I'm havin a problem growing these type of plants I have a home depote shop light over tanks 12 hours a day is there anything I can do ph is about 7.6
john fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2012, 08:48 PM   #2
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default planted tank'

The fixture is fine but you can not use a regular bulb
replace it with a plant bulb usually around 6700 k
the ph is a little high, not too bad.
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2012, 09:53 PM   #3
Astchiefy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 181
Rep Power: 0 Astchiefy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I had very good results with the clamp on shop lights too. 6500l grow bulbs. They're pretty big and look blueish. The t8s are hard to find in 48". I have a guy i order bulbs from ill see if he has them
Astchiefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2012, 09:55 PM   #4
Astchiefy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 181
Rep Power: 0 Astchiefy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I may be posting a contest soon. First prize _ a dual power compact Coralife light fixture shown in my videos. Keep a look outfor details

Dave the Fish guy
Astchiefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2012, 10:30 PM   #5
john fox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: bklyn
Posts: 332
Rep Power: 19 john fox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I did get the t5 ;all bulbs now fit conventional fixtures they modified the two prong ends🌞🌞🎅🎅
john fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2012, 08:48 PM   #6
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

t8 48" come in 2 different bulbs
a 40 watt and a 32 watt
match the ballast
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2012, 09:01 PM   #7
john fox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: bklyn
Posts: 332
Rep Power: 19 john fox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Ohh I get it now ill have to c what ballast the shop light has like I said in last post the bulb is 32 watts����and it is a t8
john fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2013, 10:53 PM   #8
Astchiefy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 181
Rep Power: 0 Astchiefy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default light issues

Did you ever find the 6500k bulb for your shop light?
Astchiefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2013, 11:10 PM   #9
john fox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: bklyn
Posts: 332
Rep Power: 19 john fox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Yes I did I bought a color bulb for bringing out the colors in the tank I thinks it's t-8
john fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2013, 11:18 PM   #10
john fox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: bklyn
Posts: 332
Rep Power: 19 john fox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

But like Steve said you got to match the ballast ; but so far the shop light is working fine it's on a timer from 1130a to 1035 p
john fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2013, 05:14 PM   #11
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default bulbs

t8 and t12 ARE PRETTY MUCH INTERCHANGABLE if they are the same watts and fit in the fixture
t12 being bigger at 1 1/2" and t8 being 1"
also there are rapid start and instant start you can not switch those
just read the ballast
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2013, 05:49 PM   #12
john fox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: bklyn
Posts: 332
Rep Power: 19 john fox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks for the information
john fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2013, 04:21 PM   #13
stevem
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 676
Rep Power: 23 stevem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

for u anytime
stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Page generated in 0.06820 seconds with 13 queries